LIFE LESSONS IN FIVE YEARS

While reflecting back on the past five years, I took out my notebook and a pen and started jotting down some of the life lessons I learned. I feel the need to write them down as a future reference and I thought that I may have to get back to these life lessons someday.

So these are some of the life lessons I learned these past five years. There are so many more lessons that I could think of but if I were to share them all this would be one long post. I’ll share the other lessons hopefully sometime soon.

20160502_085527

Who you surround yourself with matter

This is the biggest lesson I learned these past five years and one that I would remind myself over and over again. Truly, who you surround yourself with will shape the kind of life you lead.

You don’t need negative people in your life. What you need is the people who support you wholeheartedly. Who inspire you to be a better version of yourself. Who do things instead of talk about things. Who influence you to do good things.

Update your circle of friends. Regularly.

You will change

I wasn’t the same person I was five years ago. I’ve changed physically, mentally and spiritually. Five years ago I couldn’t do headstand. When things were tough I cried and cursed life. I was quite shallow about religions differences. I was different. Thing is, I may not where I want to be but I am not where I used to be and that matter to me.

I believe that at some points in life we all experience times that changed us. I once came across one quote that says every different phase in life demand a different version of ourselves and I think it’s true. Change can be unpleasant at time but is necessary for us to be better than who we are yesterday. Embrace change.

What people think of you don’t matter

It would be a lie if I say I don’t give a damn what people think of me. Because the truth is, I care what people think of me. But what I know is that it doesn’t matter. Really. People can think millions of bad things about me. They can laugh at me. They can mock me. They can misjudge me. People can think whatever they want about me. Did it matter? NO. And these people don’t even matter to me. Remember, people will only talk about you badly when they feel inferior of your existence.

Comparison is a thief of joy

How can you say you’re happy when you’re constantly comparing yourself to everyone else? I’m surrounded by so many amazing people with great mind and talent. It’s hard not to compare myself with them. But what I learned is instead of comparing myself and feel miserable I should let these people inspire me. Once I let go of the urge to compare myself, I believe in myself more.

Whenever you feel jealous of other people, drop it instantly. Stop. Focus on your strengths and abilities. You’ll be happier that way.

Live life

Life as a full-time student can be pretty daunting. Boring. However, we have the choice to shape our life. Instead of falling into the pattern of student life, find something you love doing. It can be writing a blog, working out, hiking. Whatever makes you feel alive. Live life.

Leave a Reply

